Advanced Topics in mHealth

Course Information

Instructor Alex Mariakakis
Instructor Office Hours By appointment via email
Teaching Assistant Minfan Zhang
Course Time Friday 2:00 PM – 4:00 PM

Course Description

This course will examine the growing prominence of mobile health over the past twenty years. After briefly discussing various definitions of mobile health, we will focus our attention on how people are using the sensors embedded in ubiquitous and novel devices to capture indicators of physical and mental health. More specifically, we will study how sensors are being used to measure physiological signals, psychomotor function, and disease-specific symptoms. We will also explore the how human factors play an important role in these technologies. This course requires an undergraduate-level understanding of machine learning and programming, although familiarity with computer vision, signal processing, and human-computer interaction will also be beneficial. Beyond weekly readings and an in-class presentation, students will be expected to complete and present a course project at the end of the term.

Schedule

Date Details Project Deliverable
Fri Jan 14, 2022 Course Introduction
Fri Jan 21, 2022 Education & Reminders
Fri Jan 28, 2022 Mobility
2-page proposal
Fri Feb 04, 2022 Body Motion
Fri Feb 11, 2022 Sleep
Fri Feb 18, 2022 Vital Signs
Fri Feb 25, 2022 Reading Week
Fri Mar 04, 2022 Respiratory Health
4-page progress report
Fri Mar 11, 2022 Influenza-Like Illness
Fri Mar 18, 2022 Cameras
Fri Mar 25, 2022 Mental Health
Fri Apr 01, 2022 Just-In-Time Interventions
Fri Apr 08, 2022 Project Presentations
10-minute presentation
Fri Apr 15, 2022 Final Reports
10-page report